A Simple Twist

Posted on July 29, 2010

1



Designer: Adam Meyer

What happens when the material a product dispenses becomes part of its design?

“Sometimes a simple change in an existing design goes a long way.”
-Adam Meyer

“For this project, we were asked to select a product from a list and simply redesign its form to reflect our own personal tastes. I wanted to redesign the stapler, because of all the products listed, it lacked the most style. Thereafter, we were asked to choose any item to redesign alongside our initial choice from the list, with the understanding that the two products should clearly be from the same product family.”

“I started with redesigning the stapler, but after a few redesigns it was clear that I was too heavily influenced by existing products, so I moved to the tape dispenser. Most tape dispensers were upright mainly because it allowed for ease of dispensing. I wanted to keep this functionality, but I also wanted to allow for ease when changing the tape. By twisting the tape, I could just pull the tape roll off to change it, and I could also get my finger under the tape for ease of dispensing. Best of all, the tape itself became the most important part of the design. I decided upon the final design because I liked how it looked like a disposable tape dispenser on its side, but also had a great amount of elegance to it.”

“Having the direction I wanted for the tape dispenser, I went back to the stapler. I adopted the curve as the body of the stapler, but the shape took on a life of its own. Not only did it relate to the tape dispenser, it also acted as the spring, allowed for an upright position, and made the stapler easy to pick up when lying on its side. The black body of the stapler brings out the staples as part of the design. To draw focus on the rest of the form, the staple holder was pushed back through the frame to break the expected line and to remind us of its importance as the core of the stapler.”

The Design Critic: Adam’s approach to redesigning the tape dispenser is very fundamental. Therefore, the outcome is a very simple yet beautiful piece of design.
Our verdict: Function driven design (almost) always results in good design.

Posted in: Product, Student Work