iView by Nuno Texeira, Portugal

Posted on July 9, 2010

2



In the wake of the Apple lifestyle, comes a wave of ‘iStuff’. Typically, ‘iStuff’ are products that are designed to bear aesthetic similarities to Apple products. However, not every ‘iStuff’ designer understands the essence of design; they end up designing ‘iCrap’.

This Portugese designer isn’t one of them. Nuno Texeira manages to effectively translate the Apple aesthetics into his own design language, and apply them to the iView. The Design Critic finds out how he does it:

“My name is Nuno Teixeira, I´m a portuguese designer. I´ve studied design at ESAD – Escola Superior de Artes Decorativas in Lisbon. Since a very young age, I have been passionate by the simple exercise of sketching and drawing. Later at 16, as I discovered the vast world of design and all the creative possibilities, I tried very hard to find my place in this incredible discipline.  I started by working as a graphic design, afterwards I discovered the product / Industrial design which turned out to be my greatest passion. I found it so motivating that I can´t see myself doing anything different.”

Nuno Texeira is the designer of the iView, which some of you might have seen in an earlier post.


The iView’s unique curvature promotes natural eye movement.

The Design Critic: When designing the iView, how did you translate the design elements of Apple products to the iView?
Nuno Texeira: Apple products have a very distinctive design mark. The most important factor is the way Jonathan Ive designs, and his design process. Keeping all the Apple products in line with simple design, yet beautiful and functional; it’s not an easy task. The Apple products are iconic in all senses; they sell well because people fall in love with their looks. Translating the design elements of apple was very interesting work, but not easy. The soft curved shapes, the sleek body and the simplicity of the overall design are my guide lines in the iView design process.


Dual webcams; front and rear.

TDC: Did you draw inspiration from anywhere else?
NT: Formally and aesthetically I capture my influences from memories, from a plant, from an insect exoskeleton, from the twisted roots of an old tree, a science fiction movie, the curves of the female body, from an object completely opposed and different from the one that is being made…that’s the real challenge. Creating by crossing information is always a surprise…a pleasurable one.


The iView features a double panoramic screen.

TDC: Could you list a few Do’s and Don’ts when designing an iProduct?
NT: Do´s – Try to make it simple. Make a list of all the strong and weak points of the existing product you are redesigning for. Don´ts – Avoid using unnecessary graphics. Avoid strong colors unless you’re designing a new iPod shuffle.

The secondary screen is useful for colleagues and assistants to follow your work, increasing creative exchange.

TDC: Lastly, do you have any advice for fellow designers who might appreciate your style of design?
NT: Here are some tips about my work and how they help us in the design process: We always have to be updated in two important disciplines, the old/new materials, and the old/new production methods. With these tools we can create new forms, textures, explore new solutions in terms of mass production and costs. Every time I design an object, I always ask myself: can this be made out of this material? Is this material adaptable for that particular production method? These questions have to be constantly in our heads in every step of the design process, this is very important, if you wish to be one step ahead of the competition.

“I´m very critical of my own work. I´m always learning with my mistakes and from others’ opinions. We have to see our work from different angles, and abstract ourselves from the creative process. Trying to see our design through the eyes of the user/consumer/client is in most cases extremely difficult but fundamental. Nowadays product design needs to be green. The use of recyclable materials enhances product worth and sells more. To be green is synonymous of quality. Consumers are more conscious and informed, to be green is not an option, it’s the only option.

The sole purpose of product design is to make our lives easier and enjoyable. Function and beauty are design targets to create a responsible and better product.”

View more of Nuno’s work here.

@Nuno: Thanks for the interview, The Design Critic wishes you all the best!

-The Design Critic

Posted in: Product