Student Spotlight: Justin Edmund

Posted on July 6, 2010

1



The Design Critic talks to Justin Edmund, Carnegie Mellon University senior in Communication Design.

Justin is only 19 this year, which is one or two years younger than everyone else in his class.

“I originally wanted to be an illustrator, but ended up following my web design roots and getting into communication design at CMU. At first, I had no clue what it was or what I was getting in to, like most freshmen, but it slowly became more clear.”

He specializes in web and computational design, although CMU doesn’t offer any of that right now. Justin also posseses the skills to build the things that he designs from scratch. “If I don’t know how to build it, then I learn how. Despite all this, I do love to make posters and books and the like, and am trained to do so.”

Here’s some of his work.


Focusing on Brazil’s modern architecture to create a typeface, Justin worked with an exchange student to produce an informational series, promoting the country.

See more of his work here.

This summer, Justin will be working as a product design intern at Facebook, and The Design Critic wishes him great opportunities and invaluable learning experience.

Cheers,
from the team at The Design Critic.

Tagged: , ,